Marijuana is legal for both medical and recreational use in Montana. However, the state still has regulations to ensure responsible substance use.
This blog offers a straightforward guide to what’s permissible and what isn’t when it comes to cannabis consumption in the Treasure State.
Dos: Only those of legal age – 21 years and older – may legally consume recreational marijuana in Montana. While it’s perfectly all right for users to consume marijuana while within a private residence, it’s against the law to smoke it in public. Users must also only buy cannabis from licensed dispensaries.
Don’ts: It’s illegal to consume marijuana not just in public but also on federal lands such as national parks and forests. Smoking marijuana may also affect a person’s driving ability and could lead to a DUI charge.
Dos: Users should adhere to Montana’s legal possession limit of one ounce of marijuana or its equivalent.
Don’ts: You shouldn’t exceed the possession limit. Possessing more than one ounce can lead to $200 in civil fines or up to four hours of community service for a first violation.
Growing at home
Dos: Registered marijuana cardholders can possess and grow up to four mature cannabis plants on the grounds of their private residence as long as the plants are kept out of public view. Those without cards can grow up to two mature plants for personal use.
Don’ts: Cultivating marijuana plants that are visible from a public place is punishable by a civil fine of up to $250. Officials will also confiscate the plants.
Montana’s marijuana laws ensure safety and order while allowing adults to exercise their right to consume cannabis responsibly. If you face criminal charges for any cannabis-related offense, consider consulting with a legal professional who can protect your rights in court.