Finding yourself in the position where you’ve been pulled over by the police for driving under the influence of drink or drugs will probably leave you with a million questions about what’s coming next. It’s a terrifying prospect to face, especially when you’ve never been through the process before.
The most pressing question people usually have is “what penalties might I face if I’m found guilty?”
Montana penalties for a DUI conviction
If you’ve been arrested for driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or greater, you may face a DUI conviction.
For a first offense, the penalties are:
- A fine ranging from $600 to $1,000
- A period of jail time from 24 hours up to six months
- A period of sixth months license suspension
- Paying for, and completion of, the ACT (Assessment, course and treatment) program
- Possible requirement of having an Ignition Interlock Device fitted on your vehicle
If there was a passenger in the vehicle at the time under the age of sixteen, the possible penalties are increased as follows:
- A fine ranging from $1,200 to $2,000
- A period of jail time from 48 hours up to one year
A DUI offense in Montana will also be aggravated if the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is 0.16% or more at the time of the arrest. This will increase the level of the penalties available to the prosecution and the court.
If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, there may be significant mitigating factors that you can put forward in defense of the case against you. It’s also a good idea to challenge the prosecution’s case and review their evidence. Remember, you are innocent until proven guilty. Having legal assistance in place is essential in fighting your case and putting forward a strong defense.