The gun laws in Montana are not nearly as restrictive as they are in other states. For example, a special license is not needed to carry a firearm in a concealed fashion. It is legal for almost anyone to practice concealed carry if they would like to do so.
That said, there are still some prohibitions against doing this at certain times or in certain situations. If you plan to carry, it’s important to know what these are so that you don’t face legal charges. Below are a few examples, but these are certainly not all of the potential restrictions.
You don’t meet the residency requirements
First and foremost, someone has to have been a resident of Montana for at least 6 months in order to carry legally. They also have to be a legal permanent resident or a citizen of the United States. So a person cannot move to Montana and immediately begin carrying a concealed weapon.
You are under 18
This law only applies to those who are legal adults. In Montana, as elsewhere, this is defined as being at least 18 years old. Minors cannot carry.
You are entering a restricted building
Generally speaking, people are not allowed to carry firearms into state or federal government buildings, public schools nor other official buildings. There are some exceptions to this rule, such as if the school board ordered someone to carry a firearm inside, but these restrictions will generally apply to most people.
You are impaired
Naturally, you also cannot carry a firearm while you are intoxicated or impaired by any substances.
Understanding your options
If you’re facing firearm charges, they could have a drastic impact on the rest of your life. Make sure you know exactly what legal options you have.