Montana is a great state to live in, especially if you’re a gun enthusiast. The Second Amendment of the United States Constitution guarantees the right of Americans to bear arms, and Montana is one of the most gun-friendly states in the country.
However, there are some restrictions on where you can carry your concealed weapon. Where is it illegal to conceal carry, and what are the penalties for breaking the law?
What is concealed carry?
Concealed carry is having a handgun or other weapon in a concealed manner, either on one’s person or in close proximity, and not visible to the casual observer while in a public area. Concealed carry weapons (CCW) are typically regulated by state law, with states falling into one of three categories: “may issue,” “shall issue,” and “unrestricted.”
There is no state-level concealed carry permit in Montana, so each county has its own requirements and restrictions. Generally speaking, most counties will issue a concealed carry permit to any applicant who is 18 years of age or older, does not have a felony conviction, and has lived in Montana for at least six months.
However, there are still some places where carrying a concealed weapon is against the law. These places include schools, courthouses, and certain government buildings. Additionally, it is against the law to have a concealed weapon while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. A first offense of having a concealed firearm where it is not allowed is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and up to six months in jail.
Knowing where you can conceal carry can help ensure your Second Amendment rights. If you’ve been charged with a weapons offense, make sure you fully understand your potential defenses.