Being charged with driving under the influence can have a devastating impact. Even without a conviction, a DUI can follow a person around for the rest of their life. It may appear in background checks when attempting to secure a loan, a new job, or an apartment. So, what can a person do to fight back?
The best way to defend against a DUI charge is with information. Understanding the consequences of a Montana DUI charge, alongside a knowledgeable attorney, can help a person protect their rights and freedom.
The Penalties Of Drunk Driving
Like most states, Montana issues increasingly harsh penalties for repeat DUI offenders. A driver may face charges if they fit any of the following criteria:
- Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or more.
- Driving while impaired by drugs or alcohol
- Driving with a high THC concentration
First-time offenders may face up to six months in jail and pay a fine of $600 to $1000. Additionally, drivers may have to pay for attorney’s fees, an increase in car insurance, traffic school, towing, and bail. They may also get their license suspended for six months. Even drivers ultimately not charged with a crime can expect to lose a considerable amount of money.
For drivers with a history of DUIs, the penalties increase considerably. Those convicted may spend up to a year in jail, pay up to $5000 in fines, have their license suspended for a year, and may be assigned an ignition interlock device (IID) which prevents the car from starting without a negative breath test.
Drivers may face additional penalties for having a person under 16 in the car, having a BAC of .16% or more, or refusing to consent to a blood or breath test.
Start Fighting Back Today
The best thing a person facing a DUI charge can do is reach out to a trusted attorney well-practiced in Montana’s DUI laws. A lawyer will help defend your personal rights and negotiate a resolution that mitigates as much damage as possible.