If you are facing assault charges, you need to understand the potential ways in which these charges could affect you. Aside from irreparable damage to your reputation, you could face harsh court-imposed penalties as well. Moreover, these cases are especially serious when they involve family members or a romantic partner.
Unfortunately, many people find themselves in this position over fabricated details or lies. False allegations of assault have the potential to turn your life upside down.
What are the penalties for assaulting a family member or partner?
According to the Montana State Legislature, there are serious penalties associated with assault allegations involving a family member or partner. For example, those facing these charges for the first time could have to spend at least 24 hours behind bars and may face up to one year in jail. Moreover, the financial penalties for these cases range from $100 to $1000.
If charged with assaulting a partner or family member for a second or third time, the penalties are even more severe. Those with three or more convictions could face up to five years behind bars and up to $50,000 in fines.
What are some examples of assault involving family members?
The Montana State Legislature states that family members include parents, siblings, children and household members (including those who used to live in the household). The term partners includes spouses, those who have a kid together and couples who are dating. Assault involves attacking a partner or family member with a weapon or intentionally causing bodily injury.
If you are in this position, take a careful look at the details surrounding the incident(s) and your legal rights.