The laws and penalties surrounding the possession and use of marijuana vary from state to state. In Montana, marijuana is considered a dangerous drug and is a schedule one hallucinogenic substance; however, you can expect to suffer lighter penalties for possession of small amounts compared to some other states.
Possession of marijuana
The severity of the consequences for marijuana possession are based primarily on the quantity you have. According to the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws, being caught with less than 60 grams is a misdemeanor offense. If it is your first offense, you can get a fine of up to $500 and you could be sentenced to six months in jail, while if it is your second offense, you can pay up to twice as much and be sentenced for up to three years.
The real severe penalties come if you care caught with more than 60 grams, as this is considered a felony. The fine increases sharply to as much as $50,000 in these instances, and you could be incarcerated for as long as five years.
Intent to distribute
If you are charged with possession with intent to distribute, the amount you have does not impact the maximum possible sentence, though it may impact what the court attempts to sentence you with. For this charge, you can be charged a fine of up to $50,000, and you can spend up to 20 years in prison.
This article is not legal advice, rather it is meant to simply inform you about the marijuana possession laws in Montana.